Rogue One, Punch It!

For those who don’t know, I am an avid Star Wars fan since I was 5 years old until forever. This franchise has become a huge part of my life growing up and I am sure as hell don’t want to let go of it now. Especially when a new spin-off movie just came out. Yes, my audience, we are going to talk about Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.

Rogue One is a movie that tells you about how The Rebel Alliance stole the plans for The Empire’s ultimate weapon, The Death Star. The Rebellion intends to destroy the weapon before more innocent souls could be at harm. A group of unlikely heroes band together to fight against The Empire. Jyn Erso (Felicity Jones), fellow rebel Captain Cassian Andor (Diego Luna), and a reprogrammed Empire droid named K-2SO (Alan Tudyk) sneaked into The Empire’s facility with the help from Chirrut Îmwe, Baze Malbus, and Bodhi Rook (Donnie YenJiang Wen, and Riz Ahmed sequentially). This movie is set before Star Wars Episode 4: A New Hope, therefore making it a prequel to the original series. Although Star Wars movies usually come in group of threes, Rogue One is a standalone film, making it the first standalone film in the Star Wars franchise that actually has an ending.

Spoiler alert!

I’m sure all of you have seen the movie. If not, then it’s your mistake for reading what’s below because I warned you. Spoiler alert.

There were a lot of scenes in the movie that made me squeal, got me a little over-excited, made my jaw dropped, or probably left me a broken incoherent crying mess. Here’s a list of some of my favorite moments:

  • Jyn being the literal definition of badassery (and Cassian looking at her like a puppy in love).
  • K-2SO slapping Cassian and then softly apologizes.
  • Chirrut, a blind man who believes in the power of The Force, fights dozens of stormtroopers alone and actually survives.
  • Darth “Be Careful Not To Choke On Your Aspirations” Vader.
  • Chirrut and Baze’s married banter.
  • Riz Ahmed as Bodhi Rook.
  • “You know who I am.”
  • Jyn giving K-2SO a blaster.
  • Me descending to hell as every character I know and love dies in a atomic blast.

Those are just some of my favorite moments. Of course, there are more. But I suddenly forgot. Oh well, let’s not dwell on the past.

Besides all of the epic scenes, the relationship between Jyn and Cassian is really interesting to talk about. On one side, I am relieved that they did not kiss in the end of the movie because we do not need unnecessary romantic subplot between two straight characters. But on the other side, I want Jyn and Cassian to smoosh their faces together forever and ever. Yes, my dear readers, I ship them. I ship them so much that it hurts just thinking them dying on the beach when doom is upon eyesight. When they hug, I could feel tears rolling down my cheeks. It was so heartbreaking that all of them had to die. This movie made me feel a lot of emotions and I had not prepared for that. I watched it twice in the cinema, because I like to suffer in agony.

Other things I want to talk about is Governor Tarkin. Did any of you recognize that he was a CGI, not an actual real person? No? Well.. this is me telling you that he was a result of the people that worked hard for making a blank canvas to look like Peter Cushing. I mean, damn, I didn’t even recognize it was an animation until half of the movie. The animation team did a good job.

This concludes my rants about Rogue One. Overall, it’s a really good movie. I like the plot, the setting of the movie, the characters, the teasers, the emotions I felt.. I like everything that this movie gave me. The actors did an amazing performances to portray their characters. Riz Ahmed is a personal favorite. Also, Diego Luna is so perfect? I mean, how?

Okay, that’s it. I hope you find this post uplifting and entertaining. This is my first blog post. Please send me some feedback so I could improve my writing skills more. Oh, and feel free to leave a comment about what you thought of Rogue One!

May The Force be with you.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

